10º South – delicious for your mouth!

WOW, if you haven’t been to 10º South in Atlanta, right off Roswell Road, you should make plans to do so ASAP.  It’s south African cuisine and so amazingly delicious. I had been to 10º South when I first moved here with a former friend on mine.  We sat at the bar and the “friend” proceeded to insult everyone in sight, so I was pretty much asked to remove her from the premises.  I was too embarrassed to go back for a while. I figured they wouldn’t remember me after all this time, and thankfully they did not.  I swear it wasn’t me who misbehaved!

They have a sister restaurant called Yebo in Phipps Plaza right across from Twist.  We ate there on New Years Eve day.  The food was amazing as well, and our server was great, but the management was far too busy printing up New Years Eve menus to notice that the kitchen was crashing.  The food was amazing so we’ll definitely return.

We started off with a glass of wine for each of us, I had the 2008 Spice Route Pinotage and Chad had something else but I forgot.  The pours are very generous so I was pleased.

2008 Spice Route Pinotage

2008 Spice Route Pinotage

For our appetizer we had the Peri Peri Chicken Spring Rolls which are marinated spicy chicken, served with Peri-Peri sauce.

Peri Peri Chicken Spring Rolls

Peri Peri Chicken Spring Rolls

For dinner I had the Filet “Au Poivre” which is an 8oz Angus filet mignon char-grilled, topped with a Madagascan creamy peppercorn sauce and was served with the potatoes and vegetables.  I LOVED this dish. I mean yeah it was steak, but it was cooked perfectly and the peppercorn sauce was delicious! There’s something to be said for a good piece of meat!

Filet Au Poivre

Filet Au Poivre

Chad had something called Sosaties which are skewered beef filets topped with a sweet apricot curry sauce, served on a bed of yellow and white basmati rice.  He liked his more than he liked mine.

Sosaties

Sosaties

For dessert we split Molten Chocolate Lava Cake. Often times I’m disappointed with Lava cakes, but this one was spot on!

Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

Again, if you haven’t been to 10º South, you really should.  The menu is really interesting and everything is flavorful, the service is great and so is the atmosphere!

One thing to be aware of, is that there is smoking in the bar, and when you walk in, you can smell it, but it does go away.

Leave a Reply

