One Flew South, in our case two.

When we were in the airport waiting for our flight out to Cancun, we decided since we had a little over an hour to kill that we would eat at a real sit down restaurant.  Chad had been reading about a place called “One Flew South” located in Concourse E. Wow, this is one cool joint. We had an awesome server named Kevin. The décor of the place is just beautiful, very clean and modern.

One Flew South decor.

Located in the E Terminal at the Atlanta Airport

They describe themselves as “Southernational’- Cuisine inspired by world travels; prepared largely with high quality, fresh, local ingredients.” I grabbed that blurb from their website, I didn’t write it myself. All I know is that what I ordered was fantastic!

I had the CONCOURSE “E” BURGER 1⁄2 POUND KOBEgoat cheese & shitake mushroom spread, frisée, tomatoes, pickles, five spice fries. This was a great burger, messy, juicy and the goat cheese made it even better than I had imagined.  Goat cheese does tend to do that for me though. The fries were just right, not overly salty, believe it or not I do watch my salt. I mean LOOK AT THIS BURGER!!!

One Flew South

CONCOURSE “E” BURGER 1⁄2 POUND KOBE goat cheese & shitake mushroom spread, frisée, tomatoes, pickles, five spice fries

Chad had the PULLED DUCK SANDWICHduck confit, fig & toasted peanut relish, scallions, slaw. Chad loved it! It was good, but I had that awesome burger I was shoving down my throat, so I wasn’t as interested in the duck. He cleaned his plate and helped me with my fries.

One Flew South

PULLED DUCK SANDWICH duck confit, fig & toasted peanut relish, scallions, slaw

It was a great meal that started a fabulous vacation! I recommend that you have more than an hour to enjoy the meal there. It’s not that they are slow, it’s the fact that you are in an airport and it’s already stressful enough, so give yourself PLENTY of time, I’d say an hour and a half, so you have time to get to Concourse E because sometimes it can take a while with the “PLANE TRAIN” and all. It’s worth the time, if you want a good solid meal to start off your travels.  Thanks again to Kevin our awesome server!!!

Leave a Reply

