4/19/2012 Awesome Turkey Burger!

I decided to change the look and feel of my blog. I am just getting started in WordPress, and I have some ideas on how I want this blog to look, I just have to figure out how to make it happen. Let me know what y’all think about this new look.

Monday night, a good friend of mine invited me over to her house for a southwestern turkey burger extravaganza, she served chips and salsa for an appetizer, the awesome turkey burger with low- fat spicy ranch, lettuce and tomato on a potato roll and for dessert she had a mango key lime pie. Yeah, I know I have some awesome friends 🙂 I am very lucky. Needless to say the turkey burger idea totally inspired me. Chad is away on business this week and I was kind of stuck on what to have for dinner and Tuesday night I went to the grocery store and here is my spin on a southwestern turkey burger.

First step, is to wash my countertop. I have 3 cats and 2 of them are capable of jumping on the counter even though it is a no-no one can’t be too careful when preparing dinner.

20120419-200624.jpg
I got these turkey burgers from Publix, I got the lower fat version because they were individually wrapped, and why not start out healthy.

20120419-200840.jpg

20120419-200851.jpg
I couldn’t find any potato rolls in the deli, so I opted for whole wheat hamburger buns. Score one for me for being a little healthier!

20120419-200953.jpg
These are all of the ingredients I used for my turkey burgers. Guacamole which came in 100 calorie packets, salsa verde and regular how salsa and pepper jack cheese.

20120419-201109.jpg
I sprayed a little Pam on my skillet, and the started cooking the turkey pattie.

20120419-201239.jpg
While the turkey was cooking, I opened up the packet of guacamole and put it in a cup, next I put some salsa verde and some regular salsa in the cup with the guacamole and stirred it up.

20120419-201357.jpg
I then added the guacamole and salsa mixture to each half of the bun. Put as much as you want, but keep in mind… The more the messier! I learned the hard way last night when the burger flew out and landed on the couch.

20120419-201558.jpg
After flipping the turkey burger over a few times and making sure it is cooked all the way through, I added a slice of pepper jack cheese to the top, and covered the skillet. This way the cheese melts quickly.

20120419-201711.jpg
Next, place the turkey burger on the bun and voila! You have yourself a delicious and relatively healthy dinner. Since I had some extra guacamole and salsa mixture, I grabbed a handful of whole grain scoop chips, and I was all set!

20120419-201909.jpg

2 responses

Leave a Reply

